The History of the Four County ADAMhs Board

The Four County Board of Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services (ADAMhs) of Williams, Fulton, Defiance, and Henry Counties was created in 1978 to ensure the availability of community-based alcohol, drug addiction and mental health services. It was established by Ohio statute for the purpose of planning, funding, monitoring and evaluating contracted mental health, alcohol and drug treatment services to our residents. The ADAMHs Board does not directly provide services, but contracts with a network of public and private health care agencies to treat persons in need. Services include prevention, treatment and recovery needs of individuals and families affected by alcohol, drugs and mental illnesses.

Our community-based system of care is funded by federal grants, state allocations and local property taxes to provide services to our residents. We serve as a safety net for uninsured, underinsured, people experiencing financial hardship and people who require more specialized care. The concept of community based services started in Ohio decades ago to allow Ohio residents to live more independently in their community rather than in a state mental hospital setting.

The Four County ADAMhs Board is governed by 18 board members including consumers and family members, who are appointed by county commissioners, the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services. The persons who serve on the ADAMhs Board do so without compensation.